China President Xi Jinping is not coming to India for G20 Chinese PM Li Qiang attend the summit


Beijing: Chinese President Xi Jinping will not participate in the G20 summit to be held in India’s national capital New Delhi this week. His country’s delegation will be led by Prime Minister Li Keqiang. The Ministry of External Affairs made this announcement here on Monday. Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman Mao Ning said in a brief statement that at the invitation of the Government of the Republic of India, Premier of the State Council Li Keqiang will attend the 18th G20 Summit to be held in New Delhi, India on September 9 and 10. Spokesman Mao did not give any reason for Xi’s absence from the high-level summit, being hosted by India for the first time.

away from ASEAN
President Xi Jinping will also not attend the ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) and East Asia summits in Jakarta this week. Premier Li will represent China at the ASEAN Summit in Indonesia. Wang Wenbin, another spokesman for the Chinese Foreign Ministry, announced on September 1 that at the invitation of Indonesian President Joko Widodo, the current ASEAN Chair, Premier Li of the State Council will attend the 26th China-ASEAN Summit in Jakarta, Indonesia, from September 5 to 8. , will attend the 26th ASEAN Plus Three (APT) Summit and the 18th East Asia Summit and pay an official visit to Indonesia.

Stayed away even in 2021
Now Premier Lee is expected to visit India after attending the East Asia Summit in Jakarta. In 2021, Chinese President Xi did not attend the G20 summit held in Italy due to China’s COVID-19 sanctions. Russian President Vladimir Putin has already conveyed to Prime Minister Narendra Modi his decision not to attend the summit in person. He is to focus on ‘special military operations’ in Ukraine. The Russian President did not attend the G20 Bali summit in November last year as well.

what is g20

G20 member states represent approximately 85 percent of global GDP, more than 75 percent of global trade, and nearly two-thirds of the world population. The group includes Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, UK, US and European Union (EU) .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *