In Rajasthan, both the parties BJP and Congress are going through a big phase of change.

The tradition of changing power every five years has been going on in Rajasthan for the last thirty years. In the Rajasthan Assembly elections to be held next month, BJP is trying to maintain the tradition of changing the rule every time. The ruling Congress party wants to change the tradition by forming the government again. Both the parties are going to contest the elections with full strength. In the form of a third front, small political parties like BSP, Rashtriya Loktantrik Party, Aam Aadmi Party, All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen, Bharatiya Adivasi Party, Left parties also want to take the keys to power by becoming the third force in the politics of the state. Are.

Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot has been the main pivot of Congress in Rajasthan for the last 30 years. Congress politics revolves around Ashok Gehlot, who has been Chief Minister three times. Whatever Gehlot wants happens in the Congress party. Ashok Gehlot became the Chief Minister for the first time in 1998 when he was the state president of Congress. At that time many veteran leaders were active in Congress politics in Rajasthan. Chief among them are veterans like Parasram Maderna, Shishram Ola, Naval Kishore Sharma, Kunwar Natwar Singh, Shivcharan Mathur, Jagannath Pahadia, Hiralal Devpura, Balram Jakhar, Chaudhary Narayan Singh, Ramnarayan Chaudhary, Kamla Beniwal, Khet Singh Rathod, Pradyuman Singh, Gulab Singh Shaktawat. The leaders were prominent. At that time Gehlot had defeated all of them and achieved the post of Chief Minister.

Later, Gehlot sidelined all the big leaders from active politics one by one. Today the situation is such that Sachin Pilot, who emerged as a rival of Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot in Congress politics, has also been sidelined. The personality of Gandhi family loyalist Bhanwar Jitendra Singh is not big enough to create a consensus in his name for the post of Chief Minister. In the 2008 assembly elections, CP Joshi, when he was the state Congress president, became the strongest contender for the post of Chief Minister. But his defeat by one vote ruined his political career. Last year, the Congress high command had tried to make Sachin Pilot the Chief Minister in place of Gehlot. For which Mallikarjun Kharge and Ajay Maken had come to Jaipur as observers. But due to the MLAs boycotting the legislative party meeting, Sachin Pilot remained the Chief Minister for the second time.

Chief Minister Gehlot has been continuously saying in his meetings for the last five years that he will become the Chief Minister for the fourth time. But it seems that now a big upheaval is going to happen in Congress also. If the Congress party forms the government again after the assembly elections, then there seems to be more possibility of a new leader getting the command in place of Gehlot. The way Gehlot has run the government in the last five years. Congress leader Rahul Gandhi is said to be not satisfied with this.

There was also a big controversy in the party regarding Design Box, a private publicity agency hired by Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot. Design Box was hired by Gehlot to polish his image. State Congress President Govind Singh Dotasara has had a dispute with Naresh Arora, founder of Design Box, regarding the functioning of this agency. The Congress high command is not liking the appointment of Design Box. The Congress high command wanted to appoint Sunil Kanugolu, who was the Congress strategist in Karnataka elections, to make the election strategy of the Congress in Rajasthan. But due to opposition from Chief Minister Gehlot, he had to be sent to Madhya Pradesh.

The Congress high command has not even made Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot a member of the Congress Working Committee this time. While his rival Sachin Pilot and cabinet minister Mahendrajit Malviya have been included in the working committee. By bringing tribal leader Mahendrajit Malviya into the working committee, Rahul Gandhi is indicating a change in the regional leadership. In place of Gehlot, leaders like Sachin Pilot, Bhanwar Jitendra Singh, Mahendrajit Malviya, CP Joshi can get a bigger role in Rajasthan.

BJP is also going through a phase of complete change in Rajasthan. Many leaders in the party are being promoted in place of Vasundhara Raje, who has been a student leader of the party since 2002. To bring new leadership in BJP, the party has decided not to contest elections on the face of any leader this time. BJP is going to contest elections on the basis of collective leadership and lotus symbol. Currently, State President CP Joshi, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Rajendra Rathore, Deputy Leader of Opposition Satish Poonia, Union Minister Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Kailash Chaudhary, Arjun Meghwal, MP Diya Kumari, Kirodilal Meena, Rajyavardhan Rathore are among the frontline leaders. Are. If BJP government is formed in the state, then only one of them can become the Chief Minister.

The way the tickets of leaders supporting Vasundhara Raje are being canceled, it seems that the coming times are not going to be good for Vasundhara Raje. During the tenure of 2013 to 18, there was a gathering of sycophant leaders around Vasundhara Raje who were only engaged in her presence. During that tenure, Vasundhara Raje ruled as a queen instead of a chief minister. Due to which, in the 2018 assembly elections, BJP was reduced from 163 seats to 73 seats.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi became angry with Vasundhara State due to the party’s crushing defeat in the state. Since then he started being isolated in the politics of the state. Vasundhara was not given a big role even in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. Even after that, BJP had won all the 25 seats in the state. Due to this, the national leaders of BJP understood that even without Vasundhara, BJP can establish a strong foothold in Rajasthan.

Vasundhara Raje has not been given any big role yet in this assembly elections. Tickets of his staunch supporters are also being canceled. Leaders like Kalicharan Saraf, Ashok Parnami, Yunus Khan, Pratap Singh Singhvi, Bhawani Singh Rajawat, Devi Singh Bhati, Rohitash Sharma, Kalulal Gurjar, Narpatsingh Rajvi, Rajpal Singh Shekhawat, Khemaram Meghwal, Ashok Lahoti of Vasundhara Raje faction were replaced by new people. By giving ticket to Raje, the party is also trying to end the influence of Vasundhara Raje. Overall, it can be said that this time a large number of new leaders will be elected in Rajasthan. Due to which, a big change will be seen in the politics of the state in the coming times.

-Ramesh Saraf Dhamora

(The author is an independent journalist recognized by the Government of Rajasthan. His articles are published in many newspapers of the country.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *