IND vs WI: Is Rohit Sharma trapped in his own web? West Indies tour is not easy for Team India


Dominica: The first match of the two-Test series between India and West Indies begins on Tuesday, 12 July. Team India’s preparations for the first Test match have been completed. Although Team India is currently going through its phase of change and every team goes through a phase of change at some point of time but in India’s case due to injury of star fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah and absence of Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav. The era quickly caught up with him. When Virat Kohli was the captain, he preferred to go with five bowlers and then the Indian fast bowlers always did well. After losing two consecutive finals of the World Test Championship, it would be right to plan for the future. Shami may play in another cycle of the World Test Championship but the same cannot be said for 35-year-old Umesh Yadav.

The team would love to have the services of Bumrah but there are doubts whether he will be able to rise to the challenges of the longer format upon his comeback. In such a situation, India has very few options for fast bowling at the present time. Mohammed Siraj has been India’s most successful pacer in recent times and the Hyderabadi, who has played 19 Tests so far, will lead the pace attack in the West Indies.

Is the team looking at 31-year-old Jaydev Unadkat, who returned to the Test side after 12 years in Bangladesh last year, as an option? The pace department also includes injury-ravaged Navdeep Saini and Mukesh Kumar, who is yet to play a Test match.

Another fast bowler, the legendary Krishna could have been tried in the West Indies but he is also injured like Bumrah. 24-year-old Shivam Mavi, who has done well in the Duleep Trophy, is still young but he is not part of the team touring West Indies.

India’s squad for Tests in West Indies: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Akshar Patel, Mo. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Navdeep Saini.

Ishant Sharma: Took 10 wickets in the match against West Indies, will not get a place in the team, now will do this work
Sunil Gavaskar Birthday: There was no one like Sunil Gavaskar and no one will be there
Ishant Sharma: Ishant Sharma’s career is over! Will do commentary under compulsion instead of playing on the field

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *