India creates history in Asian Para Games 2023, reaches record 80 medals

On Thursday, Indian para players created history and created a record of winning the most medals in the Asian Para Games. India’s total medal count has reached 80 on the fourth day. This also includes 18 gold medals.

At the same time, India has left behind its previous best performance of winning 72 medals in Indonesia in 2018. India has so far won a total of 80 medals including 18 gold, 23 silver and 39 bronze. With two days left in the Games, India is on track to achieve its target of winning 100 medals at the Hangzhou Games.

Let us tell you that India had won 72 medals including 15 gold, 24 silver and 33 bronze medals in the last Para Asian Games in Jakarta. On Thursday, in the men’s F46 shot put event, Sachin Sargerao won India’s first gold medal of the day with a Games record throw of 16.03 metres. Rohit Kumar won the bronze medal with an effort of 14.56m. Para shooter Siddharth Babu won the gold medal in the R6 mixed 50m rifle prone SH1 event with a score of 247.7. The compound mixed archery team of Sheetal Devi and Rakesh Kumar won the gold medal by defeating China’s Lin Yueshan and Ai Xinliang 51-149 in the final.

Archery men’s doubles pair of Adil Mohammad Nazir Ansari and Naveen Dalal won the bronze medal by defeating Kazakhstan’s pair 125-120 in the W1 event. Simran and Bhagyashree Madhavrao Jadhav won silver medals in the Women’s T12 100m and Women’s F34 shot put events. Simran clocked 26.12 seconds while Bhagyashree covered the distance of 7.54 metres. Narayan Thakur won the bronze medal in the men’s T35 100m with a timing of 14.37 seconds while Shreyansh Trivedi (12.24 seconds) also got a bronze in the men’s T37 100m event.

In para badminton, Sukant Indukant Kadam (men’s singles SL4), Sivan Nitya Sumathi (women’s singles SH6), Manisha Ramdas (women’s singles SU5), Mandeep Kaur and Manisha (women’s doubles SL3-SU5), Krishna Nagar and Sivarajan S (men’s doubles SH6 ) and Pramod Bhagat and Sukant (men’s doubles SL3-SL4) won bronze medals after losing their respective semi-final matches. In chess, Bhaveshkumar Rati Himanshi won the bronze medal in the women’s individual standard V1-B1 event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *