National Sports Weightlifting: Deepali Gursale and Prashant Koli won gold by breaking the national record. Loktej Sports News


Panaji, 25 October (HS). Maharashtra’s Deepali Gursale broke the national records in snatch and total in the women’s 45 kg weightlifting category, while Prashant Koli of the Services Sports Promotion Board (SSCB) broke the snatch and total records in the men’s 55 kg category in weightlifting at the 37th National Games here in Goa. Won gold medal breaking the national record.

The weightlifting is being played here at Campal Sports Village, Panjim. Chandrika Tarafdar won silver medal in 45 kg category by breaking the clean and jerk national record. Telangana’s T. Priya Darshini won the bronze medal.

Deepali broke Komal Kohar’s snatch record of 74 kg and Jhambha Dalabehera’s total record of 164 kg. Chandrika Tarafdar also broke Jhambha’s clean and jerk record of 94 kg. In the men’s category, Prashant Koli broke the 114 kg snatch record of Mukund Aher, who finished second in the competition. S Guru Naidu of Andhra Pradesh won the bronze medal.

In the women’s 49 kg category, Dnyaneshwari Yadav won the gold medal by lifting a total weight of 177 kg. Haryana’s Preeti won the silver medal by lifting a total weight of 174 kg, while in 45 kg, former Asian champion Jhambha Dalbehera won the bronze medal by lifting 167 kg.

Haryana won both the gold medals in netball at the Campal Multipurpose Indoor Stadium. The men won the gold medal after defeating Kerala 45-42 in a closely contested match, while the women defeated Karnataka 58-52 to top the podium. In the men’s bronze medal match, Jammu and Kashmir and Delhi played out a thrilling 73-73 tie and were declared joint winners. In the women’s bronze medal match, Delhi and Telangana were also declared joint winners after the match ended in a 64-64 draw.

At the Athletics Stadium in Bambolim, the Women’s Rugby 7’s got underway with top-ranked Odisha Women registering a 52-0 win over Goa in the opening match of Pool A. Fourth ranked Kerala defeated Bihar 40-5 in Pool A. In Pool B, second-ranked Maharashtra defeated Karnataka 48-0 while West Bengal defeated Delhi 38-10.

In the men’s matches, Haryana defeated Goa 31–0 in Pool A. In the other match of the group, Odisha started with a win by defeating Kerala 15-12. In Pool B, West Bengal defeated Punjab 19-7 while Maharashtra defeated Bihar 19-12.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *