Safety rating of new cars will now be decided on the basis of crash report, India NCAP to be launched on August 22

New Delhi : Now the safety rating of new cars manufactured and sold in India will be decided on the basis of crash reports. A big step is being taken by the government to reduce the number of deaths due to car accidents in the country. The Bharat New Car Assessment Program (Bharat NCAP) will be launched on Tuesday 22 August by the Union Ministry of Road, Transport and Highways to reduce car accidents. Under this program, cars manufactured and sold in India will be given their safety rating on the basis of their crash reports. This program was being awaited for a long time in India. Under this new program, crash test of vehicles weighing up to 3.5 tonnes will be done.

Star rating will be fixed for adults and children

Under the Bharat NCAP Crash Test Assessment Program, vehicle manufacturers can voluntarily get their vehicles tested as per Automotive Industry Standard (AIS) 197. Star rating for adult passengers (AOP) and child occupants (COP) will be decided based on the performance of the vehicle in this testing. Till now the vehicles sold in India were given safety rating on the basis of crash test reports under the Global New Car Assessment Program, but now there will be no need to take the help of a global agency for this.

India set the standard of NCAP

According to media reports, Bharat New Car Assessment Program is a crash test evaluation program, which after crash testing vehicles will be given zero to five star rating on the basis of their performance. The Union Ministry of Road, Transport and Highways has also set standards for conducting crash tests of cars in the country and giving them safety ratings. After the implementation of this program, vehicle manufacturers will give safety ratings to their vehicles on the basis of tests, which will facilitate the buyers to choose vehicles.

Who will do the crash test of vehicles

In the country, the work of crash testing of cars under India NCAP is being done by an agency called Automotive Research Association of India (ARAI). ARAI has also completed preparations to conduct crash test of vehicles on the basis of all parameters. It is being told that ARAI has set up a laboratory equipped with modern technology at Pune and Chakan in Maharashtra to conduct crash tests of vehicles, in which more than 800 pre-NCM crash tests have been done so far. This agency is fully prepared to conduct international level tests as well.

India fifth country to implement NCAP

India is now set to become the fifth country after the US, China, Japan and South Korea to implement a car crash safety programme. Union Minister Nitin Gadkari will launch Bharat NCAP on Tuesday and after this the program will be implemented on a large scale across the country.

what is the rule in america

The US is the first country in the world to adopt a car crash safety program, where two separate agencies assess the safety of vehicles sold. Among these, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) is a government agency that assesses and provides star ratings for vehicles. It has been testing cars since 1978 and conducts crash tests of around 125 cars annually. Second, the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) is an independent insurance-industry-backed non-profit organization that provides individual vehicle evaluations and star ratings. IIHS conducts its own series of six crash tests on more than 100 new vehicles each year. Both these organizations evaluate and rate the cars sold in the US on the basis of their safety standards.

Crash test of vehicles is also done in China

China NCAP or C-NCAP is a Chinese car safety assessment program, mainly modeled on the safety standards established by Euro NCAP. The C-NCAP program is run by the China Automotive Technology and Research Center (CATRC).

This rule is applicable in Japan since 1995

The Japan New Car Assessment Program (JNCAP) was started in 1995 to improve car safety performance in Japan. Japan is one of the leading car manufacturing countries and car markets in the world. JNCAP conducts crash tests and assigns star ratings to various models every year. The program began testing cars based on the installation conditions of safety equipment and the results of braking performance and front crash tests. Side-impact and offset frontal crash tests were later introduced in 1999 and 2000.

Safety rating is given on the basis of crash test in South Korea

Korean NCAP is the new car safety assessment and rating program in South Korea. Under this programme, new car models are tested and given a safety rating based on their performance in crash tests.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *