The 17th season of IPL will start this month, get ready for the excitement.


The new season of IPL will start from March 22. BCCI has recently announced the dates. Currently, a schedule of 21 matches for 17 days has been announced. Actually, in view of the Lok Sabha elections, the complete program has not been announced yet. When the Election Commission announces the dates, the remaining IPL matches will also be held accordingly. The first match will be held on March 22 between defending champions Chennai and Bengaluru in Chennai. This cricket competition, held every summer in India, has become very popular. For young players, this is a platform on which they get an opportunity to perform well and play for the country. BCCI selectors especially keep an eye on IPL. Today, youngsters like Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rituraj Gaikwad, Tilak Verma, Dhruv Jurel, Rajat Patidar, Mukesh Kumar, Rinku Singh and Arshdeep Singh have become a part of the Indian team in some format or the other. There cannot be a better opportunity than this for the youth to showcase their talent. This is also the biggest attraction of this tournament. The 17th edition of IPL will be held in the year 2024. A total of ten teams will participate in this title race. Including the final, a total of 72 matches will be played. Every year some players move here and there. Franchise companies select players for their teams by placing high bids in the auction. In such a situation, changes keep happening in the teams. For example, Hardik Pandya, who was the captain of Gujarat Titans in the last two seasons, will be seen with the Mumbai Indians team this time. He has also been made the captain of Mumbai in place of Rohit Sharma. This is also the biggest change of this year.

Since, many foreign players also participate in IPL. Therefore, the experience of playing with cricketers from other countries is also very useful. In IPL it is all about money. Players are bought by paying huge amounts of money. Broadcasting rights and advertising companies also make money. That is why it has become a famous brand in the Indian sports world. Young players become rich in a very short time.

You might remember that there were some occasions when IPL had to be held outside the country. For example, in 2009, due to the general elections, the entire tournament was held in South Africa. Due to security reasons, the government did not allow it to be conducted in the country. In subsequent years also, IPL matches have been held in Gulf countries. During the Corona period, when there was a lockdown in the entire country, these matches were in trouble. In the years 2020 and 2021, the final match of IPL was held in Dubai. In 2021, half of the matches were played in April-May when the competition was stopped due to Covid. Later in October, these matches took place in the Gulf countries.

Although ten teams play in IPL, but the maximum bets are placed on Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians. Both these teams have won this championship 5-5 times. Actor Shahrukh Khan’s team Kolkata Knight Riders has won this title twice. The biggest reason for the popularity of Chennai team is former Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni. Ever since the start of IPL in 2008, Dhoni has been associated with this team as captain. The company that owns this team also does not want to leave Dhoni. Many players change teams and move from here to there. Or the franchise companies themselves remove them and replace them with new ones. But, Dhoni did not change his allegiance. Last year, when Chennai became champion for the fifth time by defeating Gujarat Titans in the final, there were speculations that 40-year-old Dhoni would now retire. But, seeing the immense love he is getting from the audience, he has decided to play for one more year. In the 2022 season, Dhoni left the captaincy and handed it over to Ravindra Jadeja but Jadeja failed miserably in this role. Therefore, the team management made Dhoni the captain again. On the other hand, Mumbai is a strong team of IPL. Mukesh Ambani is its owner. Rohit Sharma was its captain till last year. Sachin Tendulkar was also a part of this team in the initial period. Despite retirement, Tendulkar is associated with the Mumbai team as a mentor. Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga and West Indies’ Kieron Pollard played for Mumbai for a long time. Spinner Harbhajan Singh was also a member of this team in some seasons. India’s current successful fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah and T-20 star batsman Surya Kumar Yadav also play in this team. This is the reason why Mumbai team has a large number of fans. But this time the Mumbai team has taken a surprising decision by taking Hardik Pandya and making him the captain in place of Rohit. It remains to be seen how this team performs under the leadership of the new captain.

With the entry of teams from Gujarat and Lucknow in the 2022 season, there will be a total of ten teams in the IPL. Now more matches started taking place. The captain of Gujarat Titans was Hardik Pandya who led his team to the IPL title in the very first season. After this success, he became famous across the country. Pandya was also made the captain of India’s T-20 team. Meanwhile, looking at the future, Mumbai Indians snatched Hardik from Gujarat and brought him into their fold. He was also declared the new captain of his team. Rohit Sharma’s fans found this thing distasteful. But due to the injury suffered during the ODI World Cup, Hardik has been out of the field for a long time. This is the reason why Rohit Sharma has been made the captain for the T-20 World Cup to be held in June. Whereas everyone was assuming that now Hardik will be the captain of India in T-20. Only those people know what tussle is going on at the top level, but questions are being raised on Rohit’s captaincy. The reason is that he could not lead the country to the title win in the ODI World Cup.

Two years ago, along with Gujarat, Lucknow team made its debut in IPL. But till now this team has not been able to show any miracle. Former cricketer Gautam Gambhir was associated with this team as a mentor but this season he has left Lucknow Super Giants. As far as the captain is concerned, KL Rahul has been fulfilling this responsibility since 2022. Last year, he got injured during a match at Ekana Stadium. Because of this he was out of the game in the middle of the tournament. Presently he is with the Indian team but is again troubled by injury. He is constantly struggling with fitness problems. It remains to be seen whether he is fully fit by the time the IPL starts or not. It would be appropriate to appoint a new player as captain in his place. Rahul’s performance has not been good for some time now. Bowler Avesh Khan has also withdrawn from the Lucknow team. This team will have to work hard to reach the finals. Kolkata captain Shreyas Iyer also continues to have injury problems. He could not play the entire last season. He got injured again while playing with the Indian team. Delhi captain Rishabh Pant has been out of the field for a year after the accident. But, this time he is expected to play. With Hardik leaving for Mumbai, Gujarat Titans have made Shubman Gill the captain. Gujarat has received another blow in the form of Mohammed Shami. Shami, who is suffering from an ankle injury, is out of the entire IPL. Australian fast bowler Mitchell Starc has been bid as the most expensive player for this season of IPL. He has been bought by Kolkata Knight Riders for Rs 24.75 crore. He has become the most expensive player of IPL.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *