west zone and south zone in final of duleep trophy 2023


Bangalore: West Zone entered the final of the Duleep Trophy 2023 cricket tournament on the basis of first innings lead in the semi-final match against Central Zone which ended in a draw on Saturday. The final will be played at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium from July 12 in which West Zone will take on South Zone. Chasing a target of 390, Central Zone could only manage 128 for four in the first semi-final of the tournament. The game after the tea break could not be played due to rain.

Full game could not be played due to rain

West Zone had a chance to win by getting the remaining six wickets but due to rain it was not possible. West Zone, however, took a 92-run lead in the first innings, which was enough to qualify for the final if the match was drawn. West Zone scored 220 runs in the first innings, in response to which the Central Zone team was able to score only 128 runs. West Zone scored 297 runs in their second innings with the help of Cheteshwar Pujara’s 133 runs running out of the Indian team.

On the fourth and final day of the match, West Zone extended their second innings to 292 for nine, but after adding only five runs, the entire team was dismissed. In front of a big target, they lost the wickets of openers Vivek Singh and Himanshu Mantri early in the central zone, reducing them to 17 for two. Dhruv Jurel (25) started well but was stumped by left-arm spinner Dharmendra Jadeja at the hands of wicketkeeper Het Patel. This made the score 55 runs for three wickets.

Rinku Singh played a blistering inning of 40 off 30 balls which included three sixes and as many fours. The left-handed batsman was caught at the boundary line in an attempt to play a long shot. Amandeep Khare was playing on 27 and Upendra Yadav on 18 when the match was decided to be drawn due to rain.

South Zone won by 2 wickets

And in the second semi-final of the tournament, South Zone defeated North Zone by 2 wickets. South Zone had a target of 215 runs to win. The team achieved the target in the 37th over losing 8 wickets. Mayank Agarwal scored 54 while captain Hanuma Vihari scored 43 runs. After scoring 198 in the first innings, North Zone restricted South Zone to 195 runs. North Zone had scored 211 runs in the second innings. The title match of the tournament will be played at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru from July 12.

Duleep Trophy: Pujara’s bat is on fire after being dropped from WI tour, Surya is also getting the bowlers to repent!Duleep Trophy: Drop from Team India, career was being told over, now Cheteshwar Pujara hit back

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *