World Cup: Know which team won the World Cup how many times and when

1975 West Indies team

West Indies champion in 1975

When the ODI World Cup started for the first time in 1975, there was not much glamour. There was a shortage of teams to play 60 overs matches in white attire. Instead of qualifying matches, the World Cup started with eight teams. The first World Cup was won by West Indies by defeating Australia by 17 runs. He received prize money of 9000 pounds. In the first World Cup, India was successful in winning only by 10 wickets against East Africa.

1979 West Indies team

West Indies champion also in 1979

West Indies, who rule the world of cricket, defeated England by 92 runs in the final and became world champion for the second time. Vivian Richards (138*) and Colin King had performed brilliantly. India could not win any of the three matches of its group.

1983 team india

India became champion in 1983

India showed strength under the leadership of Kapil Dev. Kapil Dev’s charismatic players did what no one had even imagined. This played the role of a milestone in the journey of Indian cricket so far. India won the title for the first time by defeating the last two-time champion West Indies. In the final, the Indian team was out for 183 runs, but the West Indies team could only score 140 runs in reply. Mohinder Amarnath and Madan Lal took three wickets each. Kapil’s historic catch of Vivian Richard became the turning point of the match. Earlier, Kapil had single-handedly led India to victory by scoring 175 runs against Zimbabwe.

1987 australia team

Australia became champion in 1987

For the first time, the event was organized outside England in India and Pakistan. In the final, Australia defeated England by seven runs and achieved the honor of becoming champion for the first time. Chetan Sharma was successful in taking a hat-trick for India for the first time in ODI cricket. Whereas, against New Zealand, Gavaskar had scored 103* runs on 88 balls. However, 1983 world champion India was eliminated in the semi-finals after losing to England by 35 runs at home.

1992 pakistan team

Pakistan became champion in 1992

This brought a big change in the ODI World Cup. The era of colorful attire, floodlights, changes in fielding rules and white ball started from this World Cup itself. As the popularity of cricket increased, the number of sponsors increased. South Africa returned to international cricket after 21 years and reached the semi-finals. It rained in the semi-final match when he had to score 22 runs in 13 balls to win. But on the basis of Duckworth Lewis system he got the target of scoring 21 runs in one ball. Along with South Africa, cricket lovers all over the world regretted this. India finished seventh with just two wins in eight matches. Pakistan won the title for the first time by defeating England by 22 runs at Melbourne ground. Imran Khan, Javed Miandad and Wasim Akram were the architects of the victory.

1996 Sri Lanka team

Sri Lanka became champion in 1996

World Cup Cricket once again returned to India. The country had great expectations from its team. India reached the semi-finals, winning just two of five matches in their group, but after India fell to 120 for eight in reply to Sri Lanka’s 8/251 in Kolkata, spectators threw bottles on the pitch and burst crackers in the gallery. Burn it. Due to this the match was stopped. Sri Lanka was declared victorious. While making their debut in this World Cup, Kenya surprised everyone by defeating West Indies by 73 runs. Sri Lanka defeated Australia by seven wickets in the final. Arvind de Silva was the architect of Sri Lanka’s victory, taking three wickets and two catches in the final. Along with this he played an unbeaten inning of 107 runs.

1999 australia team

Australia became champion in 1999

South Africa’s luck was bad once again. The match between Australia and South Africa was tied in the semi-finals. Australia was declared victorious on the basis of its victory over South Africa in the previous match. Australia defeated Pakistan by eight wickets in the final and became world champion for the second time. Shane Warne took four wickets in the final and the Pakistani team was out for 132 runs. Australia achieved the target in just 20 overs. India’s performance was poor in Super Six. He could win only against Pakistan and was eliminated.

2003 australia team

Australia became champion in 2003

Australia won the title for the third time by defeating India by 125 runs in the final. The Australian team remained unbeatable in the entire tournament. Under the leadership of Saurabh Ganguly, the Indian team reached the finals for the second time. Glenn McGrath broke the hearts of Indians by sending Sachin Tendulkar to the pavilion in the very first over. Just before this tournament, Australia’s star spinner Shane Warne had to return home due to doping charges. Kenya surprised everyone by defeating Sri Lanka and entering the semi-finals.

2007 australia team

Australia became champion once again in 2007

16 teams took part in this World Cup hosted by West Indies. Australia had completed its hat-trick of winning the World Cup title by defeating Sri Lanka in the final. In the same tournament, Pakistan’s English coach Bob Woolmer died under suspicious circumstances. He was found dead in his hotel room after Pakistan’s unexpected defeat to Ireland in the group stage. Herschelle Gibbs of South Africa became the first international cricketer to hit six sixes in an over. The performance of India and Pakistan was disappointing. Was out of the tournament early.

2011 india team

India became champion for the second time in 2011

This was the last World Cup for Sachin, who ruled cricket for two decades. His dream was fulfilled in his sixth World Cup under the captaincy of Dhoni. Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s six hit on a helicopter shot in the final match of this World Cup played hosted by India has become included in the legends of cricket. India defeated Sri Lanka by six wickets in the final and the Indian players carried Sachin on their shoulders and circled the field after the victory. India became the first country to win the World Cup on its own soil. Yuvraj Singh was the player of the tournament on the basis of his excellent all-round performance. He also won the Man of the Match award in four consecutive matches, which is a record.

2015 australia team

Australia champion for the fifth time in 2015

In the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, the Australian team once again defeated all the teams and won the World Cup. Australia defeated New Zealand by seven wickets in the final. New Zealand reached the World Cup final for the first time on the basis of Brendon McCullum’s aggressive batting, but New Zealand’s defeat was almost certain when Mitchell Starc’s yorker fell on the third ball. Trent Boult was chosen Player of the Tournament, who took 22 wickets like Starc.

2019 England team

England became champion in 2019

This World Cup was full of thrill. Due to the final being tied even after the stipulated hundred overs and Super Over, the winner was selected on the basis of counting of fours and sixes. Many questions were raised regarding the manner in which England won the first World Cup. 10 teams participated in this World Cup and in the single round robin format, India remained on top with seven wins, one loss and one match being abandoned. England defeated Australia and New Zealand defeated India in the semi-finals. New Zealand captain Kane Williamson was chosen Player of the Tournament.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *